Gym Work – 26th January 2017

I’m still not disease free, but Kniggly Knee™ was starting to grumble, so I forced myself into the gym on my way home from court (work, honest!). The gym wasn’t too busy, and I was able to warm up on the Stair Master. By warm up, I mean burn up. Phew!

I then repeated the previous leg session, and added one of the arms ones (the Push group). I didn’t have enough time or energy to Pull, the story of my life!

LEGS

  • Leg extension – 3 x 10 reps @ 15kg
  • Squats – 3 x 8 reps @ 12.5kg
  • Sumo deadlifts – 3 x 8 reps @ 20kg
  • Stiff leg deadlifts – 3 x 8 reps @ 20kg
  • Standing calf raises – 3 x 8 reps
  • Seated calf raises – 3 x 8 reps 

PUSH

  • Incline dumbbell press – 3 x 8 reps @ 6kg per arm
  • Flat dumbbell press – 3 x 8 reps @ 6kg per arm
  • Seated dumbbell shoulder press – 3 x 8 reps @ 4kg per arm
  • Dips – 1 x 6 reps with 25kg assistance, 2 x 6 reps with 35kg assistance
  • Close grip bench press – 3 x 8 reps @ 10kg
  • Behind head dumbbell triceps extension – 3 x 8 reps at 8kg

I was shocked I matched the last session, which was almost three weeks ago! Even more shocking, I had no trouble walking up and down the stairs afterwards. I shall await the DOMS with baited breath!

I was disappointed by my lack of upper body strength, however. I was struggling with the later reps, especially towards the end, so although I could’ve increased the weight, it would’ve been even more of a struggle. Maybe this is why I have Bingo Wings! I have weak shoulders, and that was very apparent. Ouch.

I’ve clearly got a lot of work to do, goddamit! 

Leave a Reply

