Gym Work – 9th January 2017

I took some advice on strength training from friends, and one (cheers, Yoric) recommended a programme that focuses on lower and upper body. I wasn’t sure if the two upper body sessions needed to be done on separate days, but I could certainly combine one with a legs session, for now. It just makes it easier to schedule gym visits.

I intended to start last week, but had a couple of blonde moments, and it never happened. 

This week, I forgot my list.

This was far easier to work around, but meant I would only focus on my legs, as I didn’t want to confuse myself any further! I did forget how many reps I had to do for the leg extensions and abs, mind you. 

  • Leg extension – 3 x 10 reps @ 15kg
  • Squats – 3 x 8 reps @ 12.5kg
  • Sumo deadlifts – 3 x 8 reps @ 20kg
  • Stiff leg deadlifts – 3 x 8 reps @ 20kg
  • Standing calf raises – 3 x 8 reps
  • Seated calf raises – 3 x 8 reps 
  • Sit ups – 3 x 15 reps

I used weights where I could really feel the last couple of reps. They may not be heavy, but they were heavy enough for me. I wasn’t sure if the calf raises needed weights. Having done them, I think I do.

One of the personal trainers interrupted me during my squats, just fishing for business, I guess. We had a bit of a chat, and he insisted on checking out my technique. Turns out I squat good *thumbs up*

I did not have much time, but when I tried to go upstairs to the ladies locker room, I struggled. Coming back down, my thighs were shaking! I was warned about DOMS, but I had SOMS!

The next few hours are going to interesting…

Leave a Reply

