Gym Work – 11th December 2016

Due to Leicester City’s Champions League campaign, and the Bloke’s Christmas meal in a Germany, my training this week had been somewhat impaired.

We arrived into Porto, and were confronted by hundreds of stairs from the Metro to street level, which was hard work carrying four days of hand luggage, and wearing a coat for the colder weather elsewhere. I struggled. I think flights affect my breathing.

Whilst in Germany, I managed a 10k run. It was tough on my lungs, as the temperature was just 5°C, and to cut down on my hand luggage, I hadn’t taken a buff to keep my throats warm. 

I was also mislead into thinking the route was flat. A mile in, I was confronted with a short, but sharp shock. I guess in the Hohenlohe region of Germany, the clue is in the name!

I returned home yesterday, with every intention of running this morning, but when I woke up, I had that horrible heavy feeling in my chest, so decided to sack it off. This afternoon, I decided to go to the gym, and aim for some quality cardio, as  an alternative. Barely 10 minutes into my StairClimber session, I knew I wasn’t well. Again.

So, here is what I got up to:-

  • 30 minutes StairClimber
  • Tricep extension – 1 x reps @ 35kg, 1 x 10 reps @30kg, 1 x 10 reps @ 25kg, and 1 x 10 reps @ 20kg
  • Leg extension – 3 x 10 reps @ 10kg
  • Leg curl – 3 x 10 reps @ 10kg
  • Lat pulley – 1 x 10 reps @ 30kg, 1 x 10 reps @ 35kg, 1 x 10 reps @ 40kg, overhand and underhand grips, making 60 reps in total
  • Barbell squats – 3 x 10 reps @ 10kg
  • Lunges – 1 x 10 reps @ 10kg 

I need to start to increase the weight on the leg curls, as these are too easy. However, sighted lunges are still a ‘no-no’. My lack of confidence with my knee is riding high, I’m afraid. I’m also conscious that I’ve not really focused in my strength work as much, and don’t want to overdue things at the early stages. But considering I felt ill and weak, it wasn’t that bad a workout.

Next week, I hope to put in a decent few days, and with me feeling, and looking like The Blob, I bloody well need it!

Leave a Reply

