How soon is now?

When you say it’s gonna happen “now”
Well when exactly do you mean?
See I’ve already waited too long
And all my hope is gone

The journey back to full speed has been slow. Slower than I had ever expected, and I’m still some way short of being anywhere close to form. Curiously, I am about 2:30 – 3:00 minutes off of my PBs for pretty much all distances. I’d expect the gap to be wider for the longer distances, but this is not the case. This suggests that I should be quicker over shorter distances, right? 

The way I’m feeling is like this; I have 5 gears. When I was running at my best, almost 2 years ago, I was getting ready to go into 5th gear. Then I had all the illness and injury, and I had to stick the gear stick back into first. That didn’t last long, but I feel like I’m now stuck in 2nd gear. Occasionally, I try to go into third, but I can’t make it stick. It’s been like this for months. I will have a decent speed session, but then struggle the next evening at club. 

Everyone keeps on telling me that it will come back. It’ll just click. One day, I’ll have a run or a race, and it’ll just happen.

But when? It’s been months.

I had a chat with a running friend yesterday, who backed up what others are suggesting. The block is in my head, not my legs or lungs. It’s hard to know how to deal with that. If I don’t push myself, then I will never improve. Just plodding along isn’t helping.

So far as training goes, I need to make my speed sessions more productive.  My intervals need to be longer, and more sustained. I’m going to try upping them to 400m instead of the 100m reps, with the odd 200m ones. I’m not sure on pace. I’ve asked for advice, so hopefully, I will have a plan. 

I also like the idea of progressions runs. One of my local routes is ideal, as I would be running downhill on the fastest km *winks*

I’ve decided to carry on without a plan of sorts. If these little tweaks don’t work, then it may be time to look at some external input, but for now, and with almost half the year gone, it feels better to try and go with the flow.

Leave a Reply

