parkrun #21 – Saturday 17th January 2015

I’ve been waiting to see if there are any pics, hence the delay in writing this one up.

My preparation for this parkrun had been hampered by a dodgy stomach, affecting all but one run in the previous fortnight. I had been taking echinacea, recommended by a lot of friends, as a preventative cold measure. I hadn’t connected the two, until a friend mentioned that some people can have a bad reaction to echinacea, which presents as a bad stomach. It seemed to add up, as my problems went beyond “Runner’s Tummy”, but left me with ever-worsening cramps. So much so, I’d been doubled up in agony, following the preceding club run. The one run I suffered no problems had been first thing in the morning, before I had taken all my “health pills”.

I knocked the echinacea on its metaphorical head.

I still woke up with a slightly dodgy tum; this I put down to nerves. I was worried my guts would still misbehave.

I also didn’t expect too much from this run, as it was extremely cold, with some ice on the course. I don’t like slippery conditions, because if I fall, I end up with a major sprain of some description!

I started further back, and took it easy. It was so cold, my feet felt numb for the first couple of kilometres. I also struggled with my breathing. It was hard work. I’d like to think that I look elegant when I run, hair flowing behind, as I take long, swift strides. The truth couldn’t be further from the truth. I was hunched, tense,and looked about as graceful as a hippo.

"Looking like the love child of Ally McCoist, and Andy Impey"

“Looking like the love child of Ally McCoist, and Andy Impey”

I was pleased to get round without any mishaps, and although my Garmin had a time of 24:52, my official parkrun time was 10 seconds slower, at 25:02. I have no idea what was going on there, I’m usually spot on with my timing. Oh well, onwards and upwards…

Parkrun relies upon volunteers to enable each event to take place. The Bloke volunteered for this event, although I don’t think he appreciated being placed on a shaded, yet exposed corner of the course.

"Despite The Bloke's face, I did not have any mishaps of the stomach variety. I can't vouch for anyone else, however..."

“Despite The Bloke’s face, I did not have any mishaps of the stomach variety. I can’t vouch for anyone else, however…”

Leave a Reply

