Goals for 2015

As the year draws to a close, I have been reflecting on 2014, and looking forward to 2015. Without looking at the former in detail here, as that will be a lengthy post on its own, I promise, I’ve started to think about where I would like to be in a year’s time.

It’s fair to say, I’m undecided.

The starting point is club and county standards; ours differ, and the latter are harder to achieve. I looked at the standards for my age group, and where I’ve come so far;

IMG_0268.PNG

I’ll admit, I’m gutted I didn’t reach Gold club, and Silver county standards, but it gives me a target for next year.

Then, I start looking at Gold Gilt, which I have achieved at 5 miles, and county Gold. I start getting ideas, then.

What if?

Could I?

Speaking to friends, who know more about running than I do, Gold Gilt is achievable. That would be a massive step up from the Silver Gilt I have achieved. But county Gold?

I would love it, love it, as Kevin Keegan once said.

It will take a lot of hard work, and a massive improvement. It would also need this/these virus/viruses to leave me alone, to give me the chance to work on it. I know that the winter is about building bases, and that, but I’ve lost a lot of good running time in the last few weeks, and I feel that I’ve stepped back. Yes, I’m ahead of where I was this time last year, but I really enjoyed the improvement. One thing is certain, I’m going to enjoy working towards improving further, even if it doesn’t feel that good at the time.

At the end of the day, though, if I don’t have a target, then I’ll feel like I’m just plodding along, and I don’t want to go back there! So what, if it’s ambitious? It isn’t really that unrealistic, is it?

Leave a Reply

