Don’t forget your strengthening and conditioning…

IMG_1862.JPG

The problem is, when things are going well, and I’ve seen such amazing improvements with my running, I’ve become complacent in keeping the foundation stable. Funnily enough, it was the morning after an afternoon of walking that the pain came. I’m just thankful I was able to run my races. Now I’m onto damage limitation. A good dig around shows that the ankle pain is connected to weaknesses elsewhere. The achilles tendon is sore, but the pain eases once the knots in my calf muscles have been manipulated. I’m also suffering with some sciatic pain, which was also connected with my previous ankle problems. No doubt the long drive on Wednesday did not help. There is no swelling; I see this as a good sign. I can do some strengthening work, as I’m not waiting for inflammation to subside.

So it’s back to the pool. I guess it has been a while since I worked on my front crawl technique, and I really want to perfect the art of the “tumble turn”. Fingers crossed, I’ll be running soon. I do have a date with 13.1 miles in Nottingham coming up…

Leave a Reply

