Parkrun #14 – Saturday 26th July 2014

20140804-190114-68474060.jpgBelieve it or not, this was just after The Hill!

It says a lot that just a few weeks ago, I would have been delighted with a time of 23:28, and not disappointed. But this parkrun was tough; it was warm, muggy, and the air was oppressive. I didn’t feel good right from the off, and could have easily have stopped at the top of the downhill section. I carried on, though. But I lost time, and knew a PB wasn’t going to happen.

This run was a test to my resolve, and character. I wanted to stop, but I didn’t. I carried on. I was 2nd in my age group, 8th female finisher, 81st out of 287 runners. Not a bad performance, notwithstanding the “disappointing” time.

Later that day, I was almost sparked out in the sofa, shivering under a blanket. The next day, I spent in bed, freezing, and with sore tonsils. So there was a reason I was feeling under par.

20140804-191104-69064577.jpgStarting the parkrun, and already contemplating pulling out

Leave a Reply

