2014 – Week 3

This week has been a whole lot more positive. This week, I ran 49.66km, which is 30.86 miles. I’m chuffed to bits, as I think 25 to 30 miles a week is about on target for where I want to be, even if I wasn’t training for an event. No doubt a running coach might disagree, but at the moment, I feel more than capable of achieving that regularly.

20140120-140845.jpg

My total for January stands at 111.4km, or 69.22 miles. With over a week to go, I would like to get close to 100 miles for the month, but if I maintain my current weekly mileage, that should be easily achievable.

20140120-141029.jpg

My immune system is currently behaving. I’m not quite right (yeah, yeah, insert your own joke here…) but feeling stronger, and fitter, and raring to go. I made the decision with yesterday’s long run to jump from 9 to 11 miles, to keep on schedule. It was only another 9 minutes, after all. Today, I’m fine. I think a massage with the foam roller does help, along with a protein shake, to prevent aches and pains, although having said that, the massage itself tested my pain threshold!

Weight wise, I lost over 1kg! I’m gobsmacked. If I’m honest, my running feels much better than this time last year, for shifting the injury weight gain. I wouldn’t be surprised if I gain a bit of that this week, I didn’t do anything in particular to lose so much. If Mother is reading this, I ate more last week than I would I had whilst feeling ill. So there.

Fingers crossed that there are no more bugs, and I can keep the progression going!

Leave a Reply

