2014 – Weeks 1 and 2

So, a new year, and the same old challenge stands before me. But this time, I have a race to run, so it was time to crack on.

The aim is to try to get down to my alleged optimum racing weight, which is a 3kg weight loss. Ambitious, especially when your BMI is already below 21 (my racing weight BMI is about 19.7, which is still normal). However, it is achievable, damned stupid small frame. Strangely, I’ve been craving lighter foods, and yes, Mother, if you’re reading this, and tutting away, I’ve been craving salad. Anyone who knows me will know I have a huge aversion to the green stuff (I’m a supertaster, so I can’t stomach the bitterness and flavours of most healthy greens. And purples. And… You get the picture). But I do like rocket, and I now like tomatoes. I even go so far as to add spring onion to it. I do like to add peppers, but Sod’s Law, a veggie I do like doesn’t agree with me!

We are also doing Dry January again. I think by the 29th December, I was ready for it. I don’t know if it was overindulgence, or if I’m getting older, but I was getting sick of the sight of snacks, and yes, booze! Reports conflict as to whether Dry January has any benefits, but I don’t care. It makes me feel better about myself, and shows that I don’t need to reach for a wine glass after a stressful day, something which concerns me slightly. On the other hand, I do like wine far too much to give it up permanently. Plus, red wine does have some benefits. Methinks the lady doth protest too much.

In terms of running, I have finally had a good Parkrun (see separate blog for that), and smashed my PB. I’ve now succumbed to the head cold that has been brewing for the last few days, so have had to miss my planned 10 miler. With 6 weeks on Sunday until Silverstone, I won’t be too far behind schedule, but it still makes me nervous. My outdoor runs have uncovered two big weaknesses.

  • 1. Hills

    I struggle with them. I know the more I tackle them, the better I’ll get. I’m not sue if it’s psychological now, but I dread the middle section of the Parkrun. I’m blaming that and the incline at the finish, on not performing even better. But I just cannot power up them like other runners are able to do.

  • 2. Sprint Finish

    I have no kick. I’m doing intervals. When I’m on the treadmill, I turn it up at the end. But once I’m outside, nothing. It’s like running through treacle. It’s happened at every race I’ve run. I try and turn on the pace, and nothing happens. I’ve got stamina, and can run for hours, but never have anything left to kill off the opposition.

  • I’m not sure what to do. I’ve read the training guides, I’ve tried adopting them, but it’s not working. Maybe I need to stop procrastinating on the running club issue, and have the benefit of someone kicking my backside.

    Talking of backsides, I feel almost free of the persistent injury problems. To aid with my recovery, and because The Bloke won’t give me a sports massage (he’s missed a trick there, he’d be a great physio), I have invested in a roller.

    20140113-193825.jpg

    It’s brilliant, and almost as painful as the physio. I picked mine up for £14.99 in TK Maxx (after checking to see if I could get it cheaper online). If you suffer from little niggles, and could do with massage therapy, I recommend it.

    Leave a Reply

    