Weeks 40-41 All this frustration…

20131012-150525.jpg

I’ve now been suffering with this virus for the best part of three weeks. The cut off date for cheaper entry to the Leicester Half Marathon was too early for me to think about tapering, and I had no idea how long I would be feeling unwell for. The fact it is the day before the race, and I’m still feeling like the proverbial bodily excrement means that on the one hand, I’m glad I haven’t wasted the entry fee. I ran/plodded for four miles this morning, and found I was still burning up after only half a mile. I’m using whatever running I do as purely a “tickover”, so I don’t lose too much fitness. Deep down, I know I’ve done the right thing. I’ve run the course before whilst feeling under the weather. New Walk is horrendous, even if it is a gradual incline. If you’re ill, it’s hard after struggling the first 12 miles.

The downside is I am gutted to be missing the race, again. I was looking forward to seeing some familiar faces, and meeting some online friends for the first time. I was hoping to have finally broken the elusive 1:50. I will have to wait until spring now.

I haven’t been back to try any more running clubs, not feeling well would make the experience horrible. I think we need to see what other clubs are like, before committing, but Hinckley Running Club have been very welcoming, and friendly.

I am now going to spend the rest of the weekend attempting to use alcohol to kill bugs. I’ve tried every supplement going, nothing has worked. I might as well take advantage of the fact I’m not racing tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

