Week 7 – Another good week

My up and down form has carried into the this week. Whilst I haven’t managed to run the desired number of times this week, I have been increasing my distances. This week’s long run was the longest since last year’s London Marathon – 9 miles.

My plan is to keep increasing the long run, by a mile each week, up to 15 miles. This should be sufficient for a decent half-marathon time. Once I’ve reached that target, I intend to run between 10 and 15 miles, each weekend.

I have been continuing with my strengthening and conditioning, having one session a week dedicated purely for that purpose. I still have pain, but it’s easing. My flexibility is increasing. The main problem I have is with driving, which I have to do for work, and driving distance does not help with the sciatica. But things are improving. Slowly.

As for the weight loss, it’s been a good week. I’ve lost 0.8kg, my clothes are fitting so much better. Apparently, my optimum running weight is a further 3kg less than my current goal. Whether I aim for it, I haven’t decided yet. I’ve still got 2kg to lose on this one. I’ll just have to see if it’s achievable.

Leave a Reply

