Diseased

I haven’t updated my weekly stats for last week; I’ve been ill for the last few days, and I’m down by 24 miles.

Now the sensible part of me is telling me that I’ve done the right thing by not running.

The less sensible part of me is racked with guilt, not least for those who have already sponsored me. I feel as though I’ve let them down, as well as myself.

The temptation to increase this week’s miles is great – that’s if I’ve recovered. The sensible part of me knows that this is stupid. Marathon training is built on a foundation, and takes into account any problems such as disease, injury, and real life. It is not just dependent on having to have run X number of miles.

If I know this, then why am I beating myself up? Again.

Leave a Reply

