Another day, another run….

Ruined.

I was doing really well, all things considered. I’m still a bit jet-lagged, and I’m feeling very fatigued, but the run was going brilliantly. The iPod kept me going with some decent tunes, when I discovered a rogue Elastica track had found its way into my iTunes library.

Anyone who knows me, especially from the old days of Brit Pop, will know that I loathe Elastica. I’ve never liked the plagiarising turd buckets. “It’s okay, I’ll skip it”, I thought. The track, not the run.

Could I get the skip control on screen?

Hell no.

I was less than 10 minutes from the end of my run, so I couldn’t stop. Instead, I had to pull out the earphones, and spend the next 3 minutes cursing my rotten luck. I also turned the volume down, just in case I could hear the blatant Wire rip-off. Of course, all the controls showed up when I wanted to end my workout. Which I remembered to do after the cool down. This means that my workout stats include the five minutes walk that is added onto a treadmill session, which means that my figures aren’t all for running now. Grr.

I have remedied the situation now. The best thing is that having removed the offending track, along with the three others I found, it doesn’t show up on my recently played list. Result.

If the next couple of days go to plan, I could end up with a decent mileage this week. The Hubby is complaining that he feels like he’s coming down with a cold, so I shall be doing my best to avoid him. I might take a pre-emptive action of taking some paracetamol before going to bed. Whilst I know it won’t actually kill anything, I’m hoping that the placebo effect will actually kick my useless white blood cells into action.

I’m quite please with how my running is going at the moment. I am feeling the cold on my chest, and Sunday’s football match did see me use my Salbutamol a few times (I was watching, not playing). My lungs have been feeling a little tight, but thankfully the asthma is behaving itself. I have been invited to go for an outdoor run on Sunday, and I would really like to go along. Fingers crossed for the rest of the week….

* * * * *

I have received an email from Virgin Giving saying that for every sponsorship donation received from now until the end of the year, I will be entered into a draw for a £500 donation from them. This would really help me to reach my target of £2,000, so if you haven’t sponsored me yet, do it now! You could help me win something!

Leave a Reply

